How To Delete A WordPress Blog Account

WordPress is a popular website builder and content management system. In fact, it is so popular that a recent survey mentions that as much as 30% of all the websites out there runs on WordPress. It is available in two types – WordPress.com and WordPress.org. So, what is the difference between them? WordPress.com based websites are launched from its commercialized, free platform. WordPress.org websites are those that are hosted by a web host with the open-source software of WordPress.

WordPress.com is a fully hosted website which lets the users create their website and customize it accordingly. There is no need for any downloads since it works on the browser itself. All the user needs to do is to create an account with WordPress, choose a theme that would suit their use, and get started!

There are plenty of drag and drop functionalities, so you can get your creative juices flowing. If you want to do some high-level modifications or customizations, you would require some coding knowledge. Since WordPress is so popular, there are plenty of contractual or freelance developers available to help you if coding is not your strong point.

WordPress.org is where you will see the WordPress software. It is open-source which means that it is free for download. You can choose a WP-friendly web host and download their blogging app. This is known as self-hosted WordPress. Both of them vary on costs, traffic, storage, design, support, and so on.

While WordPress has a great many points to its merit, we also have to look into the fact that one day, we may not want a digital presence. Or, if you just want to take your website off WordPress. The logical solution is to delete your WordPress blog or website.

Other reasons could be that you are not satisfied with your WordPress web host or that it is not working out well for you. Now that you have decided to delete your WordPress blog, you should understand that the deletion method varies depending on multiple factors. You can do so manually or by using the cPanel. Let’s take a look at all of them.

There are options for you to transfer your blog or website to other hosts at a reasonable price if you want.

Via the Dashboard

You can delete your WordPress.com blog quite easily. This would involve using the dashboard! To get started, log in to your account with your credentials.

How To Delete A WordPress Blog Account

Click on the “Settings” button located on the dashboard. Scroll down and towards the bottom, you will see the “Delete Site” option there.

How To Delete A WordPress Blog Account

If you click on it, you will be prompted to re-enter your password. Doing so will confirm your deletion request. Now, the blog is deleted. If you want to get rid of all the site content as well, click on the “Delete Site” option. This includes domain references too. Do note that this deletion process is irreversible. If you delete your blog, it cannot be retrieved again. So, be very sure before you go ahead with it.

How To Delete A WordPress Blog Account

How To Delete A WordPress Blog Account

How To Delete A WordPress Blog Account

With with cPanel

If you have installed WordPress using cPanel’s auto-install option, you can still delete your blog easily. However, the step that you need to follow will obviously vary a bit. First, log in to your cPanel Dashboard using your credentials.

How To Delete A WordPress Blog Account

 

Click on the “Hosting” tab on the cPanel dashboard. Don’t get confused with the URLs since they tend to differ according to the web hosting service providers.

Understand under which domain the WordPress blog is installed. Then, click on “Switch” to access the configuration system for that domain. Choose the “WordPress” option seen on the cPanel dashboard’s auto-installer system. Next, you will see a screen with an uninstall option, click on that.

If all goes well, following this, you should see this message – “Software has been uninstalled.” Uninstalling WordPress by using cPanel may seem complicated, but it really is not. One thing that changes here is the fact that the blog can be re-installed by using the cPanel auto-installer system.

Click on Softaculous Apps Installer

How To Delete A WordPress Blog Account

Click on WordPress Icon

How To Delete A WordPress Blog Account

Click on Red to delete /Remove installation

How To Delete A WordPress Blog Account

The Manual Way

What if you installed your WordPress blog on your web server manually? How do you delete this? Never worry! We have the answers for you. You can remove it manually. You have multiple options depending on the type of file system access. This includes FTP access, SSH-based console access, or access via other web-based file managers. In most cases, the process is simple and all you are doing is deleting the main WordPress directory, and if needed, the WordPress MySQL database. One word of advice – take a backup if you need of all the files and data.

You will be able to find the WordPress directory within the var folder or the public_HTML file within the home directory. To remove via SSH directory, you can simply key in a couple of lines of code and get it done. For doing it via FTP, you can log into your FTP server and go into the settings menu. Within the web hosting panel, search for the WordPress directory and delete it by right-clicking on it. If you want to delete it with a file manager, log into your web hosting dashboard, search for the WordPress directory. Look out for the delete option and click on it.

 Alternative Options

Deleting is kind of a drastic measure

  1. Depending on how and where you are hosting, it could be irretrievable as well. Other ways you could consider include changing your blog’s address. This will ensure you have a new address while getting to keep all your content. You can also delete all your existing post, use the same address, and start on a clean slate.

2. If you don’t want to delete just the posts, but instead everything on the site, you can do that as well. You can then use the same address for new content. If you don’t want it any longer, but you know someone who does, you can also transfer your site to them. In case you want to ensure that only those with an invite can see it, you can make it private as well.

There you go! You now have a lot of options! See which one will suit your requirements.